No problem at all – I’ve planned for just this scenario!
Just go to Settings > Profile Privacy and set Show In Member List to No. This will hide you from the member listings (you can also switch of show in search) but you will still be able to use the site, just without getting more and more messages all the time.
Fantasic news about things proceeding – I’d love to be kept in the loop in regards to how it all goes. Makes all those sleepless nights last week more worth it! 🙂
Hope that helps!